Skip to Content

This morning on Mysore Road

I’m new to Praja and this is my first post. My apologies if I managed to mess things up posting this. Ha, and thanks to folks who were so cordial at the TWG meeting on Saturday!

Travelling this morning on Mysore Road, got caught in a big mess. Unusual that early in the morning. Cause: Vrushabhavati Drain at the ORR junction obviously overflowed after rains last night. Intersection was full of a grand mixture of mud, litter and water. Crews were trying to clean up in the middle of the traffic. And that too with their hands! Not a single clean-up machine at work.

>  Does anyone know if BBMP ever thought of implementing an after-the-rains-continegency-plan?

>  Assuming there is one, does it call for starting cleanup around 8am next morning? :(

First off, it is such a hazard for those working in the middle of the intersection. And it is such a nuisance to the traffic, when it is already so bad. In my mind, I’d plan for either

> Clean-up overnight, or real early AM, if manual labor is all that is available

> Clean-up using some machinery quickly so it won’t result in a perennial traffic mess

Or better still; take the third option and clean-up drains so this won’t ever happen. But even in such an ideal case, a contingency plan has to be put in place.

I have seen crew sweeping the roads in the middle of the traffic creating a big mess behind them, but that is fodder for a separate post I guess.

Thanks,

Ravi

blrsri's picture

drain remodelling work on

I understand the problem you would have faced on that road today morning..I saw huge delays and piled up traffic all the way upto sirsi circle..however I was on the other lane moving into the city..