Skip to Content

Malleswaram underpass opens successfully

[By Malolan R Cadambi]

Malleswaram residents had welcome blessings from the gods today. No, I am not writing just about the a mild drizzle to cool down the city that we had today evening, but also about the “blessings” we received when the underpass long over due today opened for traffic.

Since I am a resident of 6th Cross Road, which is parallel to the Underpass, I could personally vouch for the massive reduction in traffic on my road as well as the pressure on Sampige Road.

Before the underpass was proposed, there was a normal four lane road, two for on coming traffic and two in the other direction. Even with this, traffic used to get chocked at the end of Malleswaram ground and used to go through 6th Cross as a thoroughfare.

Even as the underpass was being constructed, 6th Cross still used to remain a thoroughfare. But things have massively changed from today and one can even guage a small smile on the face of a lot of residents other than myself.

According to one of the MLA candidates from Malleswaram constituency, 4000 buses used to pass through Malleswaram Circle – which is strategically located at the centre of North-South routes and East-West routes.

Starting the underpass today has shown an effect on traffic.But still, private users of vehicles complain that there are too many buses and autorickshaws. Well, given that private vehicles are quite ineffecient compared to public transport (Ref: CTTP Report), the former's criticism is not valid at all.

Malleswaram is well connected even frequency wise by public transport, hence obliviating the need for much private transport to and from this ward. The upcoming Metro station on 5th Cross should also alleviate the traffic problems further.